Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

Island of the Blue Dolphins.jpgThis is another book from my childhood that I found even better than I had remembered it.

This is the story of Karana, an island girl who is abandoned on an island after her village is attacked by seal hunters. She swims back to shore to save her brother and they are left behind. Shortly after that her brother is killed by the wild dogs that roam the island and she begins a feud with the animals to get her revenge.

She quickly becomes tired of the revenge and befriends one of the dogs. The story is all about her learning to live on the island by herself and it is also about the beauty of the wildlife and the ocean around her.

Karana is resourceful and makes a good life for herself living alone.

This fits in with other stories that I loved as a boy about living alone: My Side of the Mountain, Hatchet.

What I found that I liked as an adult is that this is a beautiful story. Scott O’Dell writes wonderful stories and Karana is instantly recognizable and relatable as a character. Her kindness and bravery are just the tips of who she is.

This is a book for all ages and I have read it many times. I expect I will be reading it many more.

Leave a Reply

