The Little Prince by Antoine Saint-Exupery

The Little Prince.jpgThis is one of those children’s books that I don’t think is really written for children.

It’s about dying, as far as I can tell and it seems like it is intended to play on emotions of sadness and loss.

I say that it is intended to because I felt no emotional attachment whatever. This is probably me. Everybody I’ve ever talked to who read this book thought it was terribly sad and had nothing but good things to say.

I thought it was okay.

The idea of the Little Prince is one of interest to me because I watched the old show on Nickelodeon when I was little. The book is not like that. The book is about an adult who crashes his plane and the little boy who shows up and tells him outrageous stories and teaches him to recognize all the good things he has in his life before he dies and ‘goes back to his little planet.’

I found the writing to be a little stilted and the writing to be a little dry at times.

It’s a short book, though, and widely considered a classic of children’s literature. It’s worth reading once.

Leave a Reply

