Lion and Tiger

One of my stated goals is to photograph a mountain lion and a bear in the wild. The closer the better but I’ll take whatever I can get.

So far whatever I can get has been what I can see at a zoo. For some animals seeing them in a zoo doesn’t bother me. Otters play and swim, monkeys climb around and get into things, most animals just sleep. When I see large cats I am filled with a burning desire to set them free. They are such majestic animals — as close as a land animal comes to being a perfect predator besides perhaps the polar bear.

There is a strange dichotomy between the explosive killing force they are capable of and the lazy way in which they regard the profligate patrons of their artificial realm.

It makes me wonder, what if they only stay because they just don’t care enough to get out yet?

Leave a Reply

