The Adventures of Sally by P. G. Wodehouse

I like Wodehouse as much as the next guy, assuming the next guy thinks he’s hilarious. He made a name for himself writing comedies about British nobility that portrayed them as outlandishly silly and somewhat lacking in intelligence. His Bertie Wooster (and his butler named Jeeves) stories are the ones he is most famous for.

What I didn’t know, until I read this book, was that he also wrote romantic comedy. I thought I was getting another rich-noble-gets-himself-in-trouble kind of story. Instead I got a story about a young girl who is not wealthy but has to work for a living and her well-meaning attempts to help everybody around her gain whatever it is that will make them happy.

This is not as funny as Wodehouse later books but it is at least as entertaining and a far sight cleaner than most of the ‘romance’ books that are written today.

2 thoughts on “The Adventures of Sally by P. G. Wodehouse”

  1. This sounds like one I would enjoy. I’m afraid the humor in the little Wodehouse I listened to several years ago went right past me. Perhaps this was because I was in a car and falling asleep. Perhaps it’s because I’m not British.

    1. Wodehouse is British but only by nationality. He spent most of his life in New York and placed most of his books and stories in the US. His humor is very early American sitcom in spirit. Kind of like Carol Burnett or Dick van Dyke. Since you don’t think those are funny either maybe it’s just too much of a generational gap for you. (Which sounds like I’m a lot older than you are. I’m just generationally challenged. Hence my fear of Facebook and technology:))

Leave a Reply

