Approaching Darkness Chapter 17

This chapter is one big fight scene. I love to read fight scenes and I love to write them. I think, upon reading this that it needs some refinement but I’m generally happy with the way it turned out. When I write fight scenes my outline says simply ‘fight.’ I then make it up as I go along. I usually decide beforehand what wounds each combatant will escape with since those will determine how they get through the rest of the story. The rest of the details, however, are just surprises. I put myself in the two characters heads and see what I would do if I were fighting for my life – with the skills that they have (if it were really me I’d probably just run away, or hit them with my shovel).

Leave a Reply

