The Space Opera Renaissance: Catherine Asaro


201107112132.jpg
Dr. Catharine Asaro has made a name for herself in multiple genres writing horror, mainstream, science fiction and romance. Most of her fiction has a romantic overtone if it isn’t a direct romance novel. I had not previously read anything by Catherine Asaro, she doesn’t seem to write things that generally interest me, so I don’t really know much more about her.


“Aurora in Four Voices” was an enjoyable story. I liked the way music and art were tied so closely to mathematical symbols and subsets. I liked the references to mathematical equations as a way to create beauty. The writing was certainly top notch and very original in many ways. It won’t inspire me to seek out her other work, though. It still doesn’t feel like I’m her target market. Maybe if your looking for science fiction romance novels…

Leave a Reply

