Approaching Darkness Chapter 7

Some writers outline so meticulously that every line of dialogue is planned out before they start writing. Some writers, like Steven King, sit down with a general idea of where the story is going and see what happens. My general form is somewhere in between. I have an outline that consists of about six note cards per chapter. This means that sometimes I can be surprised by what happens when I write. For those who do not do what is called ‘discovery writing’ this probably sounds fake. How can you be surprised by something that you made up? The answer is, I don’t know how it works but it does.

This is one of the chapters that surprised me. I had planned on making this chapter a short travel section, just a few pages. It took off on its own and added a new wrinkle to the story that surprised me.

Leave a Reply

